April 29, 2011

  • Easter Weekend

    A relaxing day perched above the city at the Marina Bay Sands pool.

     

    Although they’re rather hard, I love lying on these pool beds because you can be in chilling in the pool yet not swimming.


     

     

    Gotta love one of my favorite snacks I brought along.

    ***

    Coffee connoisseurs will know this place.
    After some searching like scavengers on a treasure hunt, we managed to the find kooky little Papa Palheta that’s hidden away in a small lane off Bukit Timah Road.

    The place is renowned for specializing in roasting specialty beans and serving gourmet coffee.

    Note: it is NOT a cafe.
    Don’t expect any food menu – the focus is strictly on coffee

    A very small and cozy place for “indie” types, expats and coffee geeks.

    Owner obviously knows a thing or two about vintage interior.

     

    The interesting thing is you get to pay whatever you like for each strong cuppa.
    To be fair to them though, $3.50 is the rough guideline.

    Papa Palheta

    140 Bukit Timah Road
    +65 9799 0420

    Opening Hours:
    Sun, Tue–Fri: 9am – 6pm
    Sat: 9am – 7.30pm
    (Closed on Mon)
     
    ***

    Sunday brunch at Krish in Rochester Park

    Here they serve South Asia influenced European cuisine

    Vegetarian lasagna has barley in it.

    Fish & Chips comes with a delicious and very addictive curry mayo that I couldn’t stop eating.
    Eggs Benedict + curried duck breast.

    Cinnamon toast.

    ::Paloma Beaded Maxi Dress:: from my online boutique Lexi Lyla

    The ambiance on the outdoor 2nd floor balcony is lovely for brunch. There is even a pool table and swing.


    Krish

    9 Rochester Park
    Singapore 139220
    Tel: 6779 4644


    ***

    On another note,

    The long weekend held a very special place in my heart.

    Friday, I went to church at 7pm for the Good Friday service, to remember and give thanks on the day that Jesus died on the cross for all of us. With the blood of God’s perfect and sinless son, I am washed pure and white as snow all the time. With His perfect blood sacrificed for my sins, I can now come into God’s presence as His beloved child; there is no other more loving and amazing relationship than this I have ever experienced before! 

    I used to think I have to earn God’s blessings by being a good person, doing this & doing that. It wasn’t till about a year ago that I started to truly grasp the actual meaning of the gospel and grace. Now there is liberating freedom in knowing that there’s nothing I can do to earn God’s love and favor, I just have to believe and receive because it’s all already been done for us on the cross that Friday 2000 years ago.

    What a wonderful and amazing Father in heaven.
    Church ended at midnight for those of us who stayed back, hungry for more of His presence and soaking in songs of worship. It’s tangible, His presence, you can always feel it. Pastor John personally prayed and laid hands on many of us, myself included. My Father really spoke clearly to me through him that night, secret things that touched my heart in the deepest places; encouraging, breaking, moving me to tears, and then I was slain. It’s been nearly a decade since the last time that happened to me. There was such a glorious outpouring of the Holy Spirit that night.

    I can’t stop raving about how much God loves me, and you, and everyone! It’s joy overflowing :)

    Easter, aka Resurrection Sunday was another joyous occasion to celebrate because it’s the day Jesus rose again to give us all new life! A new life rooted in change from within – His unfailing love makes me want to live for Him and live like Him.

    It is my hope that people who haven’t had a taste of this bliss yet will one day try it too.
    Okay now well, here’s to wow, yet another long weekend…!!

    Have fun peeps, cheers~ x


Comments (10)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *